Skipping school is coming at a price for some Connecticut students. The superintendent for Connecticut Public Schools want to fine parents of students who are caught skipping. The fine will be $75 each time the student is caught. The superintendent, who has been with the district for just month, says truacy in the district is a problem and he intends to fix it.
People who live in the neighborhood surrounding the school say kids hang out in the streets around the school, and police have even been called to physical altercations. Neighbors are hopeful that the fines get passed and kids get back into school.
FactFinder 12 checked into Kansas law on school attendence. According to state law, children between 7 and 18 years old are required to attend school. If a student misses 3 consecutive days, 5 days a semester or 7 days in the school year, notices are sent to parents. If students continue to miss class, SRS or the DA's office may be contacted.