Former Wichita State baseball head coach Gene Stephenson is being inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Stephenson coached the Shockers from 1978-2013. He's one of seven inductees in the 2014 class.

Wichita State University says Stephenson will join his brother Phil in the College Baseball Hall of Fame. Phil Stephenson was inducted in 2007.

“It’s great to unite the Stephenson brothers as inductees,” said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. “Once Gene went on the ballot this year, there was no doubt he’d be a part of this year’s class.”

Stephenson is a three-time NCAA Coach-of-the-Year (1982, 1989, 1993) and 11-time Missouri Valley Conference Coach-of-the-Year (1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998).

Stephenson led the Shockers to the 1989 National Championship and also guided WSU to seven College World Series appearances (1982, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996) including second-place finishes in 1982, 1991 and 1993.

He also led the Shockers to 28 NCAA Tournament appearances, two NCAA Super Regional appearances, 20 Missouri Valley Conference regular-season titles and 18 MVC Tournament titles.

He coached 54 All-Americans and 33 players at Wichita State who played in the Major Leagues and 157 players who played professional baseball. He also coached 27 Academic All-Americans.

Stephenson won his 1,800th career game on Feb. 28, 2013 and finished his career at Wichita State with 1,837 wins, which is the most all-time at a Division I school. His career record stands at 1,837-675-3 for a winning percentage of .731. He directed WSU to more wins than any NCAA Division I program in the country eight years and collected 50 or more wins in 19 of his 36 seasons.

He is the fifth Wichita State Shocker voted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame. He joins his brother Phil Stephenson, Joe Carter, Darren Dreifort and Don Heinkel.

The 2014 class will be inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame as part of the annual Night of Champions event on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas. For more information, visit