Dallas, Texas (April 6, 2014) -

The trophies continue to mount for Wichita State head coach Gregg Marshall. He received yet another national accolade on Sunday, April 6 being named the 2014 Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year. The award was presented to him at the Naismith Awards Welcome Brunch in Dallas.

Here is the complete press release from Naismith Awards and Atlanta Tipoff Club:

Wichita State University men’s basketball coach Gregg Marshall was named winner of the 2014 Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The award was presented to Marshall at the Naismith Awards Welcome Brunch in Dallas.

Marshall was chosen from a group of finalists that also included University of Michigan Coach John Beilein, SMU Coach Larry Brown, University of Virginia Coach Tony Bennett and University of Florida Coach Billy Donovan.

Marshall was selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, which based its criteria on the coaches’ performances throughout the 2013-14 men’s college basketball season. First created in 1987, Indiana’s Bob Knight claimed the inaugural award.

“Coach Marshall continued the momentum from last year’s Final Four run to an amazing 2013-14 regular season, all the while managing high expectations, and that is an incredible challenge,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club.  “While we had five talented coaches who were worthy of this award, our voting academy felt that Gregg’s significant accomplishments were worthy of national coach of the year honors.  We are proud to welcome him into the Naismith Awards family.”

“It’s humbling to win the Naismith Award.  There were so many wonderful coaches across the country who were deserving, and I proudly accept this on behalf my players, my coaching staff and Wichita State University,” said Marshall.


  • Marshall led the Shockers to both a Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) regular season and tournament championship.
  • The Shockers set an NCAA record by winning 31 regular-season games and were the first team to enter the NCAA Tournament undefeated since UNLV in 1991.

  • Wichita State entered the NCAA Tournament as a No. 1 seed in the Midwest region.
  • They finished the season at 35-1.
  • Marshall won his third straight MVC Coach of the Year award, which has only happened one other time in the conference’s history.
  • In his seven seasons at Wichita State, Marshall’s teams have a 174-71 record for a winning percentage of 71 percent.

The vote was tabulated by the accounting, tax and business consulting firm Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is a top 50 US accounting firm and a 2013 "Best of the Best" firm, as named by Inside Public Accounting.