Head Coach Bruce Ramsay Named ECHL Coach of the Year

Wichita Thunder's Bruce Ramsay is named ECHL Coach of the Year.
Wichita Thunder's Bruce Ramsay is named ECHL Coach of the Year.(Wichita Thunder)
Updated: Jun. 8, 2021 at 3:44 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WICHITA, Kan. (Thunder media release) - The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the NHL’s Edmonton Oilers, AHL’s Bakersfield Condors and powered by Toyota, are excited to announce that Head Coach Bruce Ramsay has been chosen as the 2020-21 recipient of the John Brophy Award as the league’s Coach of the Year.

The John Brophy Award is the trophy presented annually to the ECHL coach selected to have contributed the most to his team’s success as selected in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members. The trophy is named for John Brophy, who won a record three ECHL titles with Hampton Roads in 1991, 1992 and 1998, and was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.

Ramsay led Wichita to a 41-22-8 record and a second-place finish in the Western Conference during the regular season. It marked Wichita’s first 40-plus win season since 2011-12 in the Central Hockey League.  The Thunder went 22-10-4 on the road, which is a new franchise high for road wins in a single season and led the ECHL in road victories.

Ramsay is in his second season as the Thunder’s head coach after spending three seasons as an assistant coach with the American Hockey League’s Grand Rapids Griffins. Prior to joining the Griffins, he was the head coach of the Tulsa Oilers from 2009-15, where he compiled a 185-180-35 record and led the Oilers to the playoffs in each of his last two seasons in Tulsa - which coincided with Oilers’ final season in the Central Hockey League and their first season in the ECHL.

Ramsay becomes the second coach in franchise history to win Coach of the Year. In 2011-12, Kevin McClelland was named as the CHL Coach of the Year.

Andrew Lord of Greenville finished second in the voting, followed by Ford Wayne’s Ben Boudreau, Brad Ralph of Florida and Allen’s Steve Martinson.

In addition to his Coach of the Year honors, Ramsay also was named the ECHL General Manager of the Year award, which is determined by a vote of ECHL coaches.