Governor's disaster declaration now includes 49 KS counties

Published: May. 27, 2019 at 12:49 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

With widespread flooding causing damage and evacuations, Kansas Governor's state of disaster declaration now includes 49 counties across the state.

The Adjutant General's Office says Hodgeman, Linn and Marshall counties are the latest addition to the declaration Kansas Gov. Laura Kelly initially signed on May 9.

Also included in the declaration are Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Elk, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harvey, Jefferson, Kingman, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Rush, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Wilson, and Woodson counties.

A storm system that swept through overnight Sunday also left hundreds across the state without power.

In Coffeyville, the Verdigis Rover is creeping higher, prompting officials to issue a mandatory evacuation order for people living in flood-prone areas. The National Weather Service says the river will crest on Tuesday.

Sunday, Kelly

"Emergency declarations supplement state and local government efforts through direct federal assistance for emergency debris removal and emergency protective action measures," the adjutant general's office explains. "The emergency declaration request is currently under review and the state has not yet received a determination."


To obtain information about current road closures in your local area, visit


The Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism closed the following State Parks due to flooding: Elk City State Park, Fall River State Park, Kanopolis State Park and Perry State Park. All parks were closed as of 5 p.m. Sunday, May 26.

Keep up with flood alerts in state parks and which parks are closed at the the