Prepayment of 2018 property taxes not available in Sedgwick County

SEDGWICK COUNTY, Kan. Residents who live in Sedgwick County will not be able to prepay their 2018 property taxes in order to receive a deduction.

Pexels / MGN

The county issued a release Thursday and stated the county treasurer had received inquiries regarding the possibility.

"Pursuant to state law and guidance from the IRS, residents in Sedgwick County are not able to prepay 2018 property taxes and receive a deduction," reads the release.

Residents can pay their full 2017 property taxes by Dec. 31, 2017 and receive the deduction.

Payments can be made in-person Thursday or on Friday by 5 p.m. or online by Dec. 31, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.