Wyandotte teacher named 2019 Kansas Teacher of the Year

Published: Nov. 18, 2018 at 2:42 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Kansas has a new top teacher!

Whitney Morgan, a Wyandotte High School teacher, was named the 2019 Kansas teacher of the year.

Morgan serves as an English language arts and English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), and nabbed the title Saturday night in a ceremony in front of about 400 people at the Kansas Teacher of the Year Banquet at the Marriott Hotel in Wichita.

Kansas Commissioner of Education Dr. Randy Watson presented the award.

“It is my honor to present the 2019 Kansas Teacher of the Year designation to Whitney,” Watson said. “She is truly a remarkable teacher and very deserving of this honor. Whitney uses collaborative learning to engage students from all backgrounds and abilities. She has demonstrated strong leadership skills at Wyandotte High School and is working closely with her colleagues on school climate. Whitney is a great example of the quality teachers we have in Kansas. I want to wish Whitney and the members of the 2019 Kansas Teacher of the Year team success as they represent Kansas education in the coming year.”

Morgan began her career as an English and ESOL teacher at Wyandotte High School in 2013. She received her bachelor’s degree in secondary education with a minor in nonprofit leadership in 2012 from Kansas State University. She currently is working on obtaining her master’s degree in English from the Middlebury Bread Loaf School of English in Middlebury, Vermont.

Morgan is involved in several leadership roles and professional organizations, and she is a Stanford Graduate School of Education Hollyhock Fellow.

In addition to receiving the recognition, Morgan received a $4,000 cash award from Security Benefit, and also received the Kansas Teacher of the Year Lifelong Learning Scholarship to attend participating universities free of charge as long as she continues teaching in Kansas.

Morgan was selected from eight finalists from different regions across the state.

Geary County USD 475 elementary teacher, Jennifer Brown, was one of the nominees.

Congrats to them!