Wichita State's Landry Shamet, Shaquille Morris named to all-AAC first team

The American Athletic Conference announced its men’s basketball all-conference and all-rookie teams in advance of the 2018 Aaron’s American Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Championship, which runs March 8-11 in Orlando, Fla.

All 12 American Athletic Conference men’s basketball programs were represented across the teams.

Cincinnati, which won the American Athletic Conference regular-season title, placed three players on the all-conference teams, as Gary Clark was a unanimous selection to the first team and was joined by Jacob Evans III. Senior Kyle Washington earned Honorable Mention All-Conference accolades.

After claiming the No. 2 seed for the conference championship in its first season in The American, Wichita State also put two players onto the first team, as guard Landry Shamet and center Shaquille Morris were both voted to the team.

Houston’s Rob Gray repeated as a first team selection after helping the Cougars finish in a tie for second in The American.

Clark leads The American with nine double-doubles on the season while anchoring the nation’s second-best defense. The senior averaged 12.7 points per game, connecting on over 51 percent of his attempts, while pacing the conference at 8.2 rebounds per game.

His teammate Evans led Cincinnati in scoring, averaging 13.5 ppg while finishing in double figures in 25 of 31 games this season. The junior knocked down over 40 percent of his attempts from three-point range and ranks 10th in assists this season.

Gray became The American’s all-time leading scorer his senior year, ending the regular season with 1,581 career points. Gray posted 13 games with 20 or more points this season, four of which he finished with 30 or more points. The senior also finished fourth in the conference with 4.7 assists per game.

The Wichita State duo of Shamet and Morris formed one of the conference’s top inside-outside duos, combining to average 28.8 ppg. Both players were among the most efficient players in The American, with Morris ranking second in field-goal percentage while Shamet was 14th. Shamet paces the conference at 5.2 assists per game and is second with a 44-percent mark from three-point range.

The American Athletic Conference Second Team covers five different teams, including UConn guard Jalen Adams, senior Junior Etou of Tulsa, Tulane guard Melvin Frazier, Memphis guard Jeremiah Martin and SMU’s Shake Milton rounding out the quintet.

UCF’s A.J. Davis, Quinton Rose of Temple and Washington all collected honorable mention accolades after appearing on over a third of ballots casted.

Additionally, the All-Rookie Team included a unanimous selection in ECU’s Shawn Williams. For the second straight year, Temple was represented on the team, as Nate Pierre-Louis was selected. Also voted to the team were SMU forward Ethan Chargois, Houston’s Fabian White and USF guard David Collins.

The awards were voted on by the league’s 12 head coaches. The conference's Defensive Player of the Year, Most Improved Player, Sixth Man of the Year, Sportsmanship Award and Team Academic Award will be announced on Tuesday. The American Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, March 7.

For more information on the Aaron’s American Men’s Basketball Championship, please visit championship central at www.theamerican.org/mbb.