First Shocker freshman in team history to win all-conference honors


WICHITA, Kan. Wichita State freshman guard Carla Bremaud has been named to the American Athletic Conference All-Freshman Team.

Bremaud, an Angers, France, native led the Shockers in scoring (9.9 ppg), three-pointers made (46) and attempted (148) to go with 2.7 rebounds and 31 steals this season. Her 14 games of 10 or more points led Wichita State. Her scoring increased in conference play, averaging 10.6 points per game, as the only Shocker to average double-figures. She scored a season-high 18 points at ECU on Jan. 9.

She is the first Shocker to be earn American Athletic Conference All-Freshman Team honors. In Wichita State's inaugural season in The American a season ago, Rangie Bessard was chosen for the All-Conference Second Team.

Bremaud and the Shockers open play in the American Athletic Conference Championship tonight at 6 p.m. ET vs. No. 7 seed Tulsa on ESPN3.

Player of the Year: Napheesa Collier, UConn
Freshman of the Year: Christyn Williams, UConn
Defensive Player of the Year: Napheesa Collier, UConn
Newcomer of the Year: Florence Sifa, Cincinnati
Most Improved Player of the Year: Krystal Freeman, Tulane
Ambassador Award: Sierra Cheatham, Tulane
Sixth Player of the Year: Kayla Thigpen, UCF
Coach of the Year: Geno Auriemma, UConn

First Team All-Conference
Kay Kay Wright, UCF
IImar'I Thomas, Cincinnati
Napheesa Collier, UConn*
Katie Lou Samuelson, UConn*
Crystal Dangerfield, UConn
Mia Davis, Temple

Second Team All-Conference
Antoinette Miller, Cincinnati
Dorian Branch, Houston
Enna Pehadzic, USF
Alliya Butts, Temple
Krystal Freeman, Tulane

Third Team All-Conference
Megan Walker, UConn
Lashonda Monk, ECU
Angela Harris, Houston
Alicia Froling, SMU
Crystal Polk, Tulsa

All-Freshman Team
Christyn Williams, UConn*
Jamirah Shutes, Memphis*
Sydni Harvey, USF*
Kayla White, SMU*
Dynah Jones, Tulane