KS Baseball Hall of Fame announces new class

WICHITA, Kan. (KS Baseball HOF release) Former Wichita State major leaguers Koyie Hill and Mike Pelfrey, along with former Kansas State University coaches Dave Baker and Brad Hill, headline those who will be inducted at the Kansas Baseball Hall of Fame’s annual ceremony on January 26 in Wichita. The ceremony will be held at LaVela, 6147 East 13th Street North.

Dave Baker, from Manhattan, was head coach at Seward County Community College, Creighton University and Kansas State. He is the only African-American head baseball coach in Big 8/Big 12 history.

Craig Dingman, from Wichita, attended Hutchinson Community College and pitched in the Major Leagues with the Yankees, Rockies and Tigers before an injury to his throwing arm prematurely ended his career.

Brad Hill, from Galva, is the winningest coach in Kansas State University history and was twice Big 12 Coach of the Year. Hill also won a Division II championship as coach of Central Missouri State. He was previously an assistant at Kansas and began his coaching career at Hutchinson Community College.

Koyie Hill hit .355 in three seasons as a third baseman at Wichita State and played for Team USA in 1999. Following his WSU career, Hill transitioned to catcher and caught for five teams over 11 Major League seasons.

Mike Pelfrey, from Wichita, was an All-American who went 33-7 over three seasons at Wichita State. He was drafted ninth overall by the New York Mets and pitched twelve seasons in the Major Leagues, winning 68 games.

The late Elmer Stricklett, from Glasco, played minor league ball in Topeka, Salina and Atchison. While in the minors, he learned the spitball and threw it for four major league seasons, winning 35 games.

The Cowley College Tigers of 1996-97 and 1997-98 seasons were back-to-back champions of the NJCAA World Series. The 1996-97 team, led by future major leaguer Travis Hafner, went 53-11 and defeated Seminole (OK) for the title. The 1997-98 team had a 54-9 record and beat San Jacinto (TX) for the championship.