Kansas Sports Hall of Fame announces Class of 2019

WICHITA, Kan. (KWCH) -- The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame (KSHOF) has announced the members of the Class of 2019 who will be inducted on Sunday, October 6th at the Kansas Star Casino.
The KSHOF is also proud to announce the Kansas Star Casino as the host and title sponsor for the 2019 KSHOF Induction Ceremony on October 6. This is the second year the Kansas Star Casino has been the title sponsor and is the first year of hosting the event.
Jeff Babinski, Vice President and General Manager of the Kansas Star Casino said, “We are pleased to once again help honor the outstanding achievements by Kansas athletes and coaches in this year’s class, both in the world of sports and in the local community. We’re very excited to host the banquet at Kansas Star Casino and can’t wait to meet all the inductees, it will be an exciting day. We look forward to the continued success of the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame in preserving the unique and rich history of our state’s greatest contributors.”

The KSHOF Class of 2019 consists of 13 members, including: two-time NCAA swimming champion and seventeen-time All-American at the University of Kansas, Tammy Thomas Ammons; four-time Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference football coach of the year and long-time athletic administrator at Kansas Wesleyan University in Salina, Gene Bissell; Washburn University head basketball coach with 800+ career wins, including the 1987 NAIA National title, Bob Chipman; 2003 consensus All-American in basketball at the University of Kansas and fourteen year NBA veteran, Nick Collison; 2003 first-team All-American and Big 12 Volleyball Player of the Year at Kansas State University, Lauren Goehring Cost; two-time All-American basketball selection at the University of Arkansas and eleven year NBA veteran, Scott Hastings, from Independence; three-time Missouri Valley Conference basketball selection from Wichita State University and seven year ABA veteran, Warren Jabali; two-time All-American basketball selection at Washburn University and member of the 1987 NAIA National Championship team, Tom Meier, from Topeka; two-time All-American baseball selection at Wichita State University and twelve year MLB veteran, Mike Pelfrey, from Wichita; two-time Missouri Valley Conference baseball selection at Wichita State University and nine year MLB veteran, Nate Robertson, from Maize; high school track champion and member of UCLA’s 1964 NCAA basketball championship team, Fred Slaughter, from Topeka; eleven year head coach of the Wichita Wings indoor soccer team and Tournament Director of the Wichita Open professional golf tournament, Roy Turner; 2005 Atlantic Coast Conference football selection at Florida State University and nine year NFL veteran, Kamerion Wimbley, from Wichita. Gene Bissell, Warren Jabali, and Fred Slaughter, will be honored posthumously.
The induction ceremony will be held on Sunday, October 6, 2019, at the Kansas Star Casino, located at 777 Casino Drive, Mulvane, KS, 67110. The 13 member class raises the total number of Kansas Sports Hall of Fame inductees to 297. The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame is in its 58th year of operation and is located at the Wichita Boathouse.
The 2019 Induction weekend will continue the following day as the KSHOF Golf Classic tees off on Monday, October 7, 2019, at Terradyne Country Club in Andover. Several members of the Class of 2019 will be on hand at the KSHOF Golf Classic. Teams and sponsors interested in participating in the event can contact Jordan Poland at 316-262-2038 for more information.
Online sales for 2019 Induction Ceremony tickets go live Thursday, August 1, 2019, at www.kshof.org. For ticket packages and sponsorship opportunities, please call 316-262-2038.