Rangie Bessard named to All-Conference Second Team

UNCASVILLE, Conn. – Senior forward Rangie Bessard has been named to the All-Conference Second Team by the American Athletic Conference, it was announced Friday afternoon.

The Rosharon, Texas, native led Wichita State in scoring (19.6), rebounding (7.5), field goals made (216) and attempted (481), free throws made (146) and attempted (181) and ranked second in steals (42) and blocks (32). Bessard scored 20 or more points 14 times and collected eight double-doubles during her final season in the Black & Yellow.

She was named to the American Athletic Conference Weekly Honor Roll three times and the Player of the Week (Jan. 8-14) once. In conference play, Bessard stepped her game up even more. Her 20.7 points per game ranked second in the league to go with 7.8 boards, while shooting 83.0 percent from the free throw line.

Bessard has put her name throughout the Shocker record books for both career and single season marks. On the single season charts for 2017-18 Bessard ranks third in total points (587) and points per game (19.6), sixth in field goals made (216), second in field goal attempts (481), third in free throws made (146) and fifth in free throw attempts (181). She currently ranks sixth in program history with 1,444 career points, second in scoring average (17.6), ninth in field goals made (534), fourth in free throws made (342), seventh in free throw attempts (439) and sixth in free throw percentage (.779).

Bessard has played in 82 career games, while starting 79 of those and scored 10 or more points 74 times as a Shocker.

Last season the 6-foot-1 forward was named First Team All-Missouri Valley Conference and All-MVC honorable mention in 2015-16.

Wichita State begins tournament play Saturday vs. No. 11 Temple in the first round of the Aaron's American Athletic Conference Championship at 11 a.m. CST/12 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

American Athletic Conference Awards

Defensive Player of the Year – Kia Nurse, UConn
Sixth Player of the Year – Azura Stevens, UConn
Most Improved Player – Tanaya Atkinson, Temple
Newcomer of the Year – Azura Stevens, UConn
Ambassador Award – McKenzie Adams, SMU

First Team All-Conference
Napheesa Collier, UConn
Kia Nurse, UConn
Katie Lou Samuelson, UConn (Unanimous)
Gabby Williams, UConn
Maria Jespersen, USF
Kitija Laksa, USF
Tanaya Atkinson, Temple

Second Team All-Conference
Zakiya Saunders, UCF
Azura Stevens, UConn
Jasmyne Harris, Houston
Kolby Morgan, Tulane
Rangie Bessard, Wichita State

Third Team All-Conference
Ana Owens, Cincinnati
Crystal Dangerfield, UConn
Angela Harris, Houston
Cheyenne Creighton, Memphis
Brea Elmore, Memphis
McKenzie Adams, SMU

All-Freshman Team
Masseny Kaba, UCF
Iimar'I Thomas, Cincinnati
Lashonda Monk, ECU
Ariana Whitfield, SMU
Mia Davis, Temple (Unanimous)
Emani Mayo, Temple