Shocker Giorgia Civita named Libero of the Year

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WSU) – Wichita State University sophomore Giorgia Civita was named the American Athletic Conference Libero of the Year, it was announced on Tuesday morning, Nov. 27, by the league office.

Civita, who was also named first team all-conference in The American, is the fourth Shocker in program history to be named conference libero of the year and the first in the American Athletic Conference. Dani Mostrom (2015), Kelly Broussard (2008) and Karen Augspurger (2003, 2004) all garnered libero of the year honors in the Missouri Valley Conference.

A native of Milan, Italy, Civita led The American with 445 total digs and 6.36 digs per set in Wichita State's 18 conference matches. In addition, she posted a .976 reception percentage in conference play, committing just 10 errors in 424 attempts.

Civita tallied at least 20 digs in 14 of WSU's 18 conference matches, including a career-high 42 at Tulsa Sept. 29. The 42 digs on the road against the Golden Hurricane rank third-most in Shocker single-match history.

Entering Wichita State's NIVC opener vs. Central Arkansas Nov. 29, she already owns the program single-season record for digs at 692 and is the career leader in digs per set with 5.29 digs in 267 sets.

On the season, Civita is averaging 5.91 digs per set, and has 92 assists and 16 service aces. She has played in 117 of 118 sets in 2018.

2018 American Athletic Conference Volleyball Postseason Honors
Player of the Year
Jordan Thompson, OH/RS, RS-Jr., Cincinnati *

Setter of the Year
Jade Tingelhoff, Sr., Cincinnati

Libero of the Year
Giorgia Civita, So., Wichita State

Freshman of the Year
McKenna Melville, OH, UCF

Coach of the Year
Todd Dagenais, UCF

First Team All-Conference
Kristina Fisher, OH, So., UCF
McKenna Melville, OH, Fr., UCF *
Jordan Pingel, L, Sr., UCF
Maria Mallon, OH, Fr., Cincinnati
Jade Tingelhoff, S, Sr., Cincinnati
Jordan Thompson, OH/RS, RS-Jr., Cincinnati *
Caylee Parker, OH, Fr., UConn
Jac'cara Walker, OH, Jr., USF
Erika Hansel, RS, Jr., Tulane *
Dayna Kern, MB, Sr., Tulane
Emily Thorson, OH, Sr., Tulsa
Giorgia Civita, L, So., Wichita State

Second Team All-Conference
Anne-Marie Watson, OH, So., UCF
Emma Turner, S, Sr., UConn
Shelby Martin, S, So., ECU
Hannah Flowers, RS, So., Memphis
Clara Payne, MB, R-Sr., USF
Brittany Adams, OH, Sr., SMU
Taylor Horsfall, L, Jr., Libero, Tulsa
Rachel Moore, OH/MB, Sr., Tulsa

*unanimous selection