Shockers earn 4-seed in AAC Softball Championship

WICHITA, Kan. (WSU) - Wichita State will be the No. 4 seed in the 2019 American Athletic Conference Softball Championship and open play Thursday, May 9 against No. 5 UCF at 12:30 p.m. CST.

The Shockers finished the regular season 31-24 overall and 12-9 in their second season of American Athletic Conference play. The three-day, single-elimination tournament will be held May 9-11 at Cougar Softball Stadium in Houston, Texas.

Wichita State won the season series against UCF, taking two of three from the Knights in Orlando. Wichita State won the final two games 6-3 and 2-1 after dropping the series opener, 3-2.

All quarterfinal and semifinal contests of the American Softball Championship will be broadcast live on the American Digital Network on Facebook (facebook.com/americandigitalnetworkplus), with the championship airing at 12 p.m. ET on ESPN2 on Saturday, May 11. For all live updates and ticket information, visit TheAmerican.org/Softball and follow @American_SBall on Twitter. All rounds are single-elimination, with the tournament champion earning The American's automatic bid to the 2019 NCAA Division I Softball Championship.

2019 American Athletic Conference Softball Championship
Cougar Softball Stadium | Houston, Texas

Quarterfinals – Thursday, May 9
American Digital Network
Game 1: No. 1 USF vs. No. 8 Memphis - 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT
Game 2: No. 4 Wichita State vs. No. 5 UCF - 1:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. CT
Game 3: No. 2 Tulsa vs. No. 7 ECU - 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT
Game 4: No. 3 Houston vs. No. 6 UConn - 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT

Semifinals – Friday, May 10
American Digital Network
Game 5: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 - 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT
Game 6: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4 - 4:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT

Championship – Saturday, May 11
ESPN2
Game 7: Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6 - 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT